Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



AGRICULTURAL BANK OF CHINA

AGRICULTURAL BANK OF CHINA LIMITED

中國農業銀行股份有限公司

(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1288)

## **APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD**

Reference is made to the announcement on the resolutions of the board of directors (the "**Board**") of Agricultural Bank of China Limited (the "**Bank**") dated 7 January 2021, the announcement on the poll results of the 2021 first extraordinary general meeting (the "**EGM**") and the announcement on the appointment of executive director dated 28 January 2021. Mr. GU Shu was elected as an executive director of the Bank at the EGM and his term of office commenced upon the consideration and approval by the EGM; he was elected as the chairman of the Board at the meeting of the Board held on 7 January 2021, subject to the ratification of his qualification as the chairman of the Board by the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission (the "**CBIRC**"). According to the articles of association of the Bank, Mr. GU Shu will serve concurrently as a member and the chairman of the Strategic Planning and Sustainable Development Committee of the Board after his qualification as the chairman of the Board is ratified.

The Bank received the Approval on the Qualification of Mr. GU Shu of Agricultural Bank of China Limited (Yin Bao Jian Fu [2021] No. 115) from the CBIRC today. According to relevant regulations, Mr. GU Shu served as the chairman of the Board, a member and the chairman of the Strategic Planning and Sustainable Development Committee of the Board since 9 February 2021.

Please refer to the announcement on the resolutions of the Board dated 7 January 2021 for the biographical details of Mr. GU Shu.

By Order of the Board Agricultural Bank of China Limited HAN Quoqiang Company Secretary

Beijing, the PRC 9 February 2021

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors are Mr. GU Shu, Mr. ZHANG Qingsong and Mr. ZHANG Xuguang; the non-executive directors are Mr. ZHU Hailin, Mr. LIAO Luming, Mr. LI Qiyun, Mr. LI Wei and Mr. WU Jiangtao; and the independent non-executive directors are Ms. XIAO Xing, Mr. WANG Xinxin, Mr. HUANG Zhenzhong, Ms. LEUNG KO May Yee, Margaret and Mr. LIU Shouying.